“You don’t win friends with salad, you don’t win friends with salad, you don’t win friends with salad… “- Bart and Homer Simpson

Our latest Pi installment brings us to some familiar places.  We have decided that we would invite our in-laws over for dinner and share the SundayPi love, however, due to circumstances we made it on Monday instead.

The quote above comes from the Simpsons, if you did not recognize it.  We have been fans for many years, and there are often Simpsons quotes in our everyday life.  This one is always a favorite.  Lisa is not happy that family wants to host a BBQ.  Please feel free to watch here for the inspiration clip!

simpson

This latest recipe is another attempt to improve upon that quest of thin crust pizza pie.  It also includes MEAT!  We have tried several recipes, but haven’t quite hit it right.  Dave insists that the Walmart brand mix mentioned several posts back is the best, and honestly, it is quite good.  I still search, however, so here is the latest attempt.

img_0738
dough for pizza

This dough recipe did not have anything that was particularly different about it.  It had the following:

4 1/2 cups flour.
1 tsp. salt
1 tbs. yeast dissolved in
1 3/4 cups warm water
1/4  olive oil (plus more for pans)
I found the recipe on  this site on Pinterest.  When reading it, it called for the dough to be made in a fairly straightforward manner, allowed to rise and then rolled thin.  I did all of the following.  This dough was VERY sticky and I had to add more flour to it in order to make it not so sticky.  I cut it into three equalish (thats a word, right?) pieces and set it to rest.  Once it had a chance to rise, it was more pliable.
img_0739
stretched dough

I decided to pre-bake the crusts and the first one, as you can see above, was hand stretched.  I won’t say I tossed it, as it would have ripped.  I did stretch it as thin as I could, as you see in the holes that formed.

For the toppings we used some leftover breakfast sausage. It was Bob Evans, Maple variety.  I really like it.  I typically don’t like breakfast sausage, as I am more of a kielbasa or smoked sausage fan.  But, at any rate, I did have some left over and I roughly chopped it up and pre cooked it.

img_0740

This one also had red onion, fresh mozzarella, yellow and red peppers and mushrooms.

img_0741

 

At this point, I want to insert that a SHARP GOOD KNIFE is a MUST in my kitchen…

img_0743

The sauce as a little different from the norm, as I had a bottle of pre-made sauce that sounded like a change.

img_0742

The other two crusts were rolled out with the rolling-pin to try to get it more even. David topped them.

fullsizerender-1

The one he had made had red onion, jalapeños, feta, extra pepperoni, peppers and grated Asiago cheese.  I neglected to get a photo that was good quality before it was put into the oven… sorry.  We baked the pizzas at 525 degrees in our oven.

img_0751
David’s pizza with his new pizza flipper

Here is a shot when it came out of the oven.  It is sitting on his new pizza flipper I got him for his birthday.  I found this GIANT spatula flipper for sale at Aldi grocery and thought it would be PERFECT for removing a pizza from the oven.  It worked great!  (If you have never been to Aldi, you really should visit one.  It is a German grocery that is no frills, but they have great quality things for very reasonable prices.  I love to get their ethnic food items there.)

img_0747
sausage pizza

The sausage pizza came out and looked great, other than the sausage was pretty well done.  In hind site, I should have maybe put it on raw.  David had worked at Dominos pizza as a kid, and that is how they did it there.  I topped it with fresh oregano and basil.

img_0748
glamour shot of the sausage pizza

The other pizzas did have a thinner crust than the hand formed pizza.  The last pizza that David made was double pepperoni, double cheese, feta, onion and jalapeño.

img_0749
Isn’t this one gorgeous?

David’s parents arrived and we dug into the pizza.  I liked the crust on the first one, but David thought it was still too thick.  As mentioned, I overcooked the sausage, so be sure to NOT cook it as long first.  The cream sauce was not tomatoey as desired either.  Patrick Hunt liked the second pizza, without the double toppings, the best.  They also admitted that they typically like a thick crust pizza, but his Mother makes Digiorno Frozen Pizza or they order out from a chain.  All in all, it was not bad, but still had lots of room for improvements.

*disclaimer… I do not get ANY compensation at all for any product mentioned in this blog.

Leave a comment